Models for Communication and Collaboration

There are three models that can be used for communication and collaboration between CANREC members involved in evaluating research proposals that span their various jurisdictions.
For these models to function effectively the following should be taken into consideration:


MODEL 1

Review by Several RECs/IRBs

  • Committees can work together and coordinate the review;
  • A communication method or tool must be decided on;
  • The Principal Investigator (PI) should address any inconsistencies across the submissions;
  • A form must be designed on which the PI can list:
    • Names of RECs/IRBs involved; 
    • Contact details for the RECs/IRBs that the research proposal to be reviewed will be submitted to,  and this should be made available to all parties.

 

MODEL 2:

Review Delegated to an External or Multi-institutional REC/IRB

  • Here, the countries or institutions facilitate ethical review by one Committee, whether nationally or regionally; 
  • A communication agreement  (Reliance Agreement) is to be drafted and used between all the relevant committees.

 

MODEL 3:

Reciprocal REC/IRB Review

  • Here, official agreements may be used between participating RECs/IRBs to accept each other’s ethical review.   This can be across the board, or on a case-by-case basis

Notes

  • In choosing the appropriate review model, always consider the research context, and the characteristics of the population.

ISSUES TO CONSIDER:

  1. The discipline & content area of the research, and availability of appropriate experience & expertise available to the reviewing RECs/IRBs;
  2. The scope of the project;
  3. The vulnerability of the study population;
  4. The particular characteristics of the local population at the individual sites, including any differences in values and cultural norms;
  5. The level of risk associated with the research;
  6. Any relevant differences in laws related to the research where the institutions are in different countries;
  7. Conflict resolution mechanisms related to decisions by the RECs/IRBs.

COMMUNICATION AND COLLABORATION UNDER EMERGENCY CONDITIONS
Aarons, D. Research in epidemic and emergency situations: A model for collaboration and expediting ethics review in two Caribbean countries. Developing World Bioethics, 2017

 

 

Members' Contact Information

ANGUILLA 
Dr. Aisha Andrewin
c/o IRB Chair
aisha.andrewin@gov.ai
    ANTIGUA & BARBUDA 
Mr. Colin O'Keiffe
c/o IRB Chair
bewize@hotmail.com 
       
BAHAMAS 
Ms. Janet Hall
c/o Ethics Secretariat
janethall008@yahoo.com
    BARBADOS 
Dr. Mike Campbell
c/o IRB/MOH REC Chair
dr.mike.campbell@gmail.com
       
 
BERMUDA 
Dr. Richard Fulton
c/o Chair IRB
rcfulton78@googlemail.com

 

cc: Dr. Shawnee Basden
Chair, BHB Research Ethics Sub-committee
Shawnee.basden@bhb.bm
     
GRENADA 
Ms. Maira Du Plessis
c/o IRB Chair 
mdupless@sgu.edu

 

cc:  Mr. Kareem Coonamsingh
IRB Adminsitrator
kcoomans@sgu.edu
       
GUYANA 
Dr. Shamdeo Persaud
c/o IRB Chair
cmoguyana@gmail.com
shamdeo@yahoo.com
     
       
JAMAICA 
Ministry of Health
Prof. Owen Morgan
c/o MOH Ethics Panel Chair
ostcmorgan@yahoo.com
     University of the West Indies 
 Dr. Gillian Wharfe
c/o UWI Committee
Chair
gillian.wharfe@uwinmona.edu.jm
       
Mrs. Cynthia Lewis Graham
Acting Director
Standards and Regualations, Ministry of Health
grahamc@moh.gov.jm
cc Ms. Elizabeth Anderson
elizabethkellyanderson2@gmail.com
Ministry of National Security
Mrs. Rochelle Clarke-Grey
c/o Ministry of National Security
Ethics Committee
Chair
rochelle.grey@mns.gov.jm
     
University of Technology (UTech)
Mr. Balford Lewis
c/o University of Technology (UTech)
Research Ethics Committee Chair
blewis@utech.edu.jm
     
       
ST. LUCIA 
Dr. Sherry Ephraim-Le Compte
c/o Ethics Committee Chair
ephraim.sherry@gmail.com
     
       
 
ST. VINCENT & THE GRENADINES
Dr. Simone Keizer-Beache
Chief Medical Officer/ Chair - Research and Ethics Committee
Ministry of Health, Wellness and the Environment
skeizerbeachem@gmail.com
mosimi@vincysurf.com
cc: Dr. Tamara Bobb
Epidemiologist, Ministry of Health
tamara.bobb@hotmail.com
     
SURINAME 
Dr. Stephen Vreden
Chair of the Suriname Research Ethics Board (CMWO) 
stephenvreden@yahoo.com

 

cc: Dr. Deborah Charles-Stijnberg
REC/IRB Secretary
debbystijn@yahoo.com 
       
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
University of the Southern Caribbean
Ms. Gersha Pierre
c/o University of the Southern Caribbean IRB Chair 
pierreg@usc.edu.tt
    University of Trinidad & Tobago
Dr. Vashti Singh
c/o University of Trinidad & Tobago
IRB Chair
vashti.singh@utt.edu.tt
       
North Central Regional Health Authority
Ms. Vanessa Cummings
c/o North Central Regional Health Authority Ethics
Committee Member generalmgr.ppr@ncrha.co.tt
Temporarily cc:  businessplanning@ncrha.co.tt
    University of the West Indies
Prof. Shivananda Nayak
c/o University of the West Indies
REC Chair
shivananda.nayak@sta.uwi.edu
       
 
Eastern Regional Health Authority
Dr. Cindy Ann Badaloo
Chairman
Eastern Regional Health Authority REC Chair
cindybadaloo@yahoo.com
cc: Mr. Keston Daniel
Vice Chair
kestondaniel@yahoo.com
erhapho@gmail.com
     
North-West Regional Health Authority
North-West Regional Health Authority REC
health.services@nwrha.co.tt
       
TURKS & CAICOS ISLANDS 
Mrs. Mary Forbes
c/o Health Research Committee Chair
wmdforbes@hotmail.com
cc: temaitland@gmail.com
   
     
REGIONAL: CARPHA 
Dr. Sharmella Roopchand-Martin
Chair
sharmella3@hotmail.com 
sharmella.roopchandmartin@uwimona.edu.jm